tl;dr | Garrett Guynn

@GGuynn

Goal-setting

I am near the end of my Strategies for Online Learning course with a new insight on how I can change my habits and attitude to set the course for a successful future.  There are really two parts to this equation.  One is setting short-term goals.  The other is the setting long-term goals… and then there is everything in between.

Types of Goals

Setting short-term goals is the habit that keeps you coming back each day.  “I will log in to class on Monday and spend 5 hours studying.”  “I will give myself a break each hour for 15 minutes.”  These are the small milestones that do not overwhelm us.  These are goals that can be accomplished in a short period of time and add up to equal the overall success.  This is when you study the hardest.  The payoff will come much sooner for short-term goals.  This makes it worth the while to put more effort and thought into the task at hand.  This makes the “now” more meaningful.  For all you know, you may write an essay that defines your career.

The end-result

Ultimately, short-term goals equate to long-term goals.  Stating a long-term goal would be saying, “I will earn my degree from the Art Institute of Pittsburgh in 4 years.”  Ta da!

Getting there

We learned of goal-setting techniques that will help us maintain momentum in our objective.  Along the way, use the following techniques:

1.  Create a goal statement with a target date

“The goal statement should be specific and measurable; that is, it should entail some tangible evidence of its achievement and it should have a target date, a timeline for accomplishing your goal.  Your goal statement must use an action verb.[1]  Example: “I will earn my degree from the Art Institute of Pittsburgh in 4 years.

2.  Develop action steps

Action steps are can be the most fun.  They are like chapter points.  Action steps can be short-term or long-term goals.  Example: The following chart (which I used earlier in this course) demonstrates a type of action step measurement.  Each 6 weeks seems like a fairly short-term goal.  While each assignment is a shorter-term goal.  The long-term goal is aligned with my goal statement.

3.  Write a narrative statement

Example: “In my Strategies for Online Learning, I expect to learn strategies to help me successfully achieve my academic and professional goals.”  This could align with my shorter-term goals and remind me to do my best for each assignment in that class.

4.  Write an “I deserve it” statement

This guiding statement reminds us of the reasons we are taking these steps.  It is the attitude that is the catalyst for your success.  “You deserve it.”  “You will reach your goals.”  Example: “I deserve to be well compensated for my hard work and talents.”

5.  Add a personal signature

“This is an imperative step in that your signature shows that you are making a personal commitment to see this goal to fruition.  This is your name.  Use it with pride.”[2]  This is why you do your best.  You want to be the best that you can be.  And isn’t that why you’ve set these goals?  Example: Publishing my assignments to my Blog.  I am taking pride in my work.  My Blog title bears my name.  “Garrett Guynn’s Blog“.

These goal-setting techniques can be used in conjunction with my strategies for success.  I will encounter daily situations that will require critical thinking to solve a problem.  Often, the problem may be solved by outlining the steps to solve it.  Using these goal-setting techniques will serve as a reminder and action step in problem solving.  I believe anything can be done with the proper planning and management.  In my personal life, I will use each of these techniques.  Sometimes I will use them all, sometimes I will use a few.  Most importantly, the “I deserve it” attitude will encourage me to follow through with my goals.

References

[1] (Sherfield, Robert M.. Cornerstone: Discovering Your Potential, Learning Actively, and Living Well, 5th Edition. Prentice Hall/MBS, 032007. 16). <vbk:MBS906557#page(16)>
[2] (Sherfield, Robert M.. Cornerstone: Discovering Your Potential, Learning Actively, and Living Well, 5th Edition. Prentice Hall/MBS, 032007. 18).  <vbk:MBS906557#page(18)>

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

