tl;dr | Garrett Guynn

@GGuynn

Personal Experiences in Given Scenarios

Scenario 1

Case:
You have a personal emergency that arises at the end of week 2 of your class which will prohibit you from moving forward. What do you do in this situation?

Action:
I would weigh out the best and worse case scenarios first. Knowing what I stand to lose in the situation would have a greater bearing on the importance of taking action. Since it is safe to assume that I would always stand more to lose, I would take action.

I have laptop, so location couldn’t be an excuse for missing class, but will I have an internet connection? What’s the severity of the emergency and how long will it last? If I could possibly attend class, I must tap into the resources I have available. That’s one thing technology does for us, right? I’m in this class because it is accessible from Alaska.

When I lived in California, I used the buses and trains to get from here to there. I had to be on schedule, because if I missed the #68, one would not return for another hour and I would be late. Needless to say, once or twice, I missed that bus. I always called my boss and let her know I would be late for work. That was the protocol: call in.

Using my Student Handbook from the AIO Campus Commons (go there), I would review the protocol on missing class. Additionally, I would seek the Course Home of each of my courses and review any information pertaining to missing class. I would review the week’s assignments. I would send a message to the Instructor via his/her AIO email. I would describe the situation and inform the Instructor what assignments I will miss. If I am in a study group and any other team effort, I would also inform my classmates that I would not be available. I would want to provide them with as many resources as possible. I would use the Dropbox in the course to share any documentation I have, including notes. I would ask the Instructor for an extension in my assignment or test. Depending on the emergency, the Instructor may be reasonable, but I won’t count on it.

Scenario 2

Case:
You are putting in upwards of 30 hours per week into your school work along with working a full-time job. What actions do you take to prevent from burning out?

Action:
If you look around the Campus Common and Course Home, you will discover (if you haven’t already) several links that offer Student Support. There is a Student Support Hotline: 1-877-872-8869; Counseling Hotline: 1-866-920-2071; My Admissions Counselor was extremely helpful…

If I am getting burnt out, it may be because I am setting too high of expectations on myself. Maybe I need a break from my computer and technology in general. I opted for the eBook for this course, maybe I should get a REAL book? I just need to be creative. This usually works for me.

I would need to review my study habits and organizational methods. I could supplement the time for a break by posting my work early for the week. Overall, however, it’s about the attitude I have about my education and what it is I am learning. School is a chance to be creative. I will need apply the habits and skills learned from my Strategies for Online Learning class so that I can maintain overall momentum and security in my academic career when faced with crisis situations or feeling burnt out.

Scenario 3

Case:
After receiving your schedule for the next quarter from your Academic Advisor, you have many questions pertaining to the content of the course, textbooks needed, and the software that will be used. What is the easiest way to find out these answers?

Action:
Assuming that the links to courses have been made available to me, I would access the Course Home.

Directly under the Course Home (on the left sidebar), there is a link that says “Description and Requirements”. You can pretty much follow the links in the pop-up window to order books or view the required software, prerequisites, etc. Additionally, my Academic Counselor is available if I just email her.

I may also find help in Support, Student Lounge, and Questions for the Professor.

Likewise, If I do not have access to my course, I would email my Academic Counselor.

I had not yet installed the Bookshelf software on my computer by the end of the first week. Luckily, the first two sections were available in .PDF format in the eChapters section. You may also see resources attached to the email you received when your Academic Counselor enrolled you in the course.

References

1. (Sherfield, Robert M.. Cornerstone: Discovering Your Potential, Learning Actively, and Living Well, 5th Edition. Prentice Hall/MBS, 032007.172).

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

