tl;dr | Garrett Guynn

@GGuynn

Memory Techniques and Test Taking

1. Based on the first few weeks of this course and other courses you have taken this term, what memory techniques and methods outlined in Chapter 7 will prove helpful in your online education? Why?

In Chapter 7, I discovered that my memory strength lies in my long-term memory. I have learned that memorization is knowing. I know how to apply x in the real world because I care. Caring is a reason to know. Like Tomeia said, it can be a “survival skill”. As Felicia put it, “empathize”. I attach a feeling to the topic, relate it in my real life, and thus can retain the knowledge better. This works with my thinking/feeling personality type discussed in Week 3.

I supplement the memorization techniques with effective note taking habits. I am constantly finding that I need to review sections of the course text. I don’t feel that Mnemonic devices help because I have trouble remembering what words I attached to each letter, even if the Mnemonic sentence uses words I associate in my long-term memory.

Back in 5th grade, my class learned the song, “Fifty Nifty United States”. It’s a song (jingle) that essentially helps you memorize each state in the US by alphabetical order. That technique seemed to have worked great. Today, I can still recite each State in proper order in under 15 seconds. I think this technique might be effective for other people in this class, like Tomeia, because they are the Rhythmic personality type or musically inclined. Chris could make a beat and write a catchy song. That would be an effective story line and/or jingle memorization technique.

I find it amazing that to every degree, there is a counter measure of techniques that compliment our learning styles. It also seems that the more discussion and group work we do, like discussion, we start to know the material. This is because in discussion, we share, compare, and drill into the points. We also get feedback. In many cases feedback comes in the form of questioning. Questioning is also an effective technique in group discussion that will append the subject to the long-term memory. As is discussed in W4A1, I’ll need to be creative if I am to effectively learn and communicate.

I memorize information by remembering the keywords. It’s sort of my index of words-or-vocabulary.

You should explore these words. “To truly know something, you have to go beyond what is given. You have to look at and examine more than you are told or more than what is pointed out for you. In order to own information, you have to be totally committed to examining every detail, every inch, and every angle of it. You will need to practice and master the technique of “going beyond.” [1]

I would use Mapping method of note taking, to arrange these words into relationships. I would use Chapters 7 and 8 for reference. I would have created a tactile method of studying that could be built upon. I could map out the relationships and use each node as a table of information.

This would be especially useful in a collaborative team environment. We would have built a relational database or information schema.

I created the Word Cloud with Wordle.

I start to explore. I was interested in what information means. My friend Jay used to say in his instant message chats, “GIMBF”. “Google is my best friend.” I typed, “define:information” in my Google search. I got, “knowledge acquired through study or experience or instruction”.

So I Google searched knowledge and selected
timeline view.

What is information????????!!!!!!!! It is Global. It is awareness. It is accessibility. It is a trend. It is everything we know. Kevin Kelly would call it a cosmic force.

I just need to be creative. I learn with open-mindedness and empathy and draw on the significance of how knowledge effects myself and my environment. This is a useful memorization technique. This becomes knowledge that I need forever.

I attended a conference to listen Marco Torres speak back in 2008. He was an amazing presenter! “Marco communicates a practical perspective on how we, as a learning community, can adapt and change to best accommodate today’s needs.”

I want to own that knowledge so I make it important.

2. What test-taking abilities and study habits will you develop to help you earn the best grades possible? Discuss those found in the text in Chapter 8 and explain how they will help you.

I really found it interesting how the text pointed out that you should never be unprepared for a math or science class. It this because it is a fixed set of information and would require a structured study plan?

I found that the same habits will be used in preparation for and during a test. These habits include:

A. Skipping over questions I don’t know getting back to them later harnessing the three types of response methods.

1. Quick-time response
2. Lag-time response
3. No response

B. Asking the Professor about specifics of the assignments and tests in attempt to predict and reduce my anxiety about the test.

C. Study the hardest material first when reviewing and/or summarizing test or study material.

D. Taking breaks and eating a healthy snack.

I learned different tips on how to complete specific types of questions including; essays, matching, true/false, short questions. “Write neatly”, the book says. Proofread, summarize, spell check.

I learned memorization techniques as written in Question 1. I learned new methods of note taking. Each of the study and test taking skills directly apply to earning the best possible grade and also help us to successfully prepare for a test.

Most importantly, there are the 11 commandments:
[2]

References

1. (Sherfield, Robert M.. Cornerstone: Discovering Your Potential, Learning Actively, and Living Well, 5th Edition. Prentice Hall/MBS, 032007. 180).
2. (Sherfield, Robert M.. Cornerstone: Discovering Your Potential, Learning Actively, and Living Well, 5th Edition. Prentice Hall/MBS, 032007. 211).

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

