tl;dr | Garrett Guynn

@GGuynn

Folder Structure

Some people like to have a hierarchical structure in their folders and others like to store all their files in just only one or two folders.  I prefer to have more folders with less files in them.  The biggest reason for this is that the folder containing the files may have a unique name.  This is helpful when searching.  I often use Spotlight to find files.  Let’s say I need to install a licensing for my software.  I have a folder named, Software Licenses.

1. I use the Command+Space keystroke to active Spotlight and type “Software Licenses”.

2. Next, I press return.

3.  Here, you will see how I use folder structuring in practice.  This folder is synce’d to my iPhone.  If this folder contained hundreds of files clustered together, and not in folders, it would take longer to read the files.  You would notice this type of lag over a networked folder.  The main reason for this method of folder structuring is this: indexability.  This is directly related to Web Design.

4.  Each folder in the following image is available in Adobe Dreamweaver and sync’d to the server where the site lives. (Some of these sites are no longer live.)

I am using Dropbox to sync these files.  I highly recommend this if you are not using MobileMe.

No Folder Structure Alternative

It is safe to say that there is really no right or wrong way to structure your files and folders.  It is safe to say that keeping a cluster of files, which are tagged and orderly named will work just as well.  In the following example, I am using Google Docs.  Much like Gmail, you can label documents.


I am able to sort and filter these files based on both the filename and tags.  As you can see in my CPU101_S class, my files are grouped by filename.  My Strategies for Online Learning course is tagged.  I could search for “Strategies for Online Learning” and see only those files.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

